The all had strong cases to win the award, but the NL Cy Young ultimately went to Corbin Burnes of the Milwaukee Brewers. Meanwhile, the AL Cy Young went to Toronto Blue Jays starter Robbie Ray, who enjoyed a stellar bounce-back season. The NL Cy Young race was one of the deepest in recent memory and there was a close competition in the AL between Ray and New York Yankees ace Gerrit Cole.